Council on Aging | Department on Aging | Jackson County, North Carolina

Council On Aging

The Council on Aging is the Advisory Board of Directors for the Jackson County Department on Aging. The purpose of the Council on Aging is to provide support to the Department on Aging Director and staff members in identifying and serving older adults. The first Jackson County Council on Aging members were appointed by the Board of Commissioners in 1980 and the Council is still is an important part of aging programs in the community. The Council acts as a sounding board for the Department on Aging and they represent various agencies and areas of Jackson County.

Current Members:

Board of Directors

Community/Program Represented


Dora Caldwell
Recreation Department
Eddie Wells
(Vice-Chair/Executive Director)
Department on Aging
Karen Davis
(Secretary/Nutrition Coordinator)
DOA Nutrition Programs

Clarissa Ashe
Health Department
Krisna Ashe
Cherokee/Whittier Community
Linda Buchanan
Cashiers Senior Center
Roy Burnette
Sylva Community
Debbie Coffey
Dillsboro Community
John Chicoine
Mountain Projects, Inc.
Gail Cagle
Adult Day Program
Laura Chapman
Webster Community
Barbara Davis
Disability Partners
Barb Mock
Senior Center Advisory Council
Sue Nations
Sylva Community
Peggy Wike
Tuckaseegee Community
Tom Stribling
Board of Commissioners
Jim Montsinger
Webster Community
Jack McFadden
Cullowhee Community
Sara Melton
Area Agency on Aging
Pam Middleton
Healthcare Representative
Rhonda Monteith
Department of Social Services
Norma Taylor
Jackson County Transit
Charlene Ward
Cashiers Community
Sheila Setzer
Veterans Services



© Department On Aging - Jackson County/Website by Hazel Digital Media